One expert’s opinion

Last night I went to to check my email, and found out that there was some sort of live music happening at the cafe that I frequent almost exclusively. It was a spoken word/neo-soul jam session in Fort Greene, BK–maybe you can imagine the scene. I was really minding my own business, enjoying the poetry and feeling acutely aware of my whiteness, etc., when I was approached by the barista with my check.

“Barack’s not really black, you know.”

News to me! So if he were elected he wouldn’t be the first black president of the United States?

“Yeah he would..but his mother is white and his father isn’t American.”

And what? Being born in Hawaii doesn’t make you American?

“No but his father is African. And he was educated all over the world.”

Why do these facts disqualify Obama as black in his mind?

April 16, 2007. Barack Obama, New York City.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

