Def Jux

This happened a little while back, and I had kind of forgotten about until I met up with a friend of mine the other day who reminded me. My friend invited me to a hip hop show on the Lower East Side for El-P’s album release. The “White Rapper Show” had just ended on VH1, so we were doubly-excited to see the Definitive Jux All-stars.

So the crowd is approximately 95% white guys, which means when the rapper on stages says, “MOSH!” mosh they do. My sixth sense told me something animal like that was gonna happen, so I was safe in the balcony. Not surprisingly there are barely any women at the show. While in the balcony I am approached by a gentleman who wants to know what’s up with the button, and about 20 other things.

“Are you gonna vote for him?”

I hope so.

“I don’t vote because I’m an anarchist.”

That’s rad! I’m excited because I haven’t met an anarchist since high school! This really takes me back.

“Do you like hip hop?”

I do. Why else would I be at this show?

“Are you a feminist?”

Yes…and?

“I thought feminists didn’t like hip hop.”

Hahaha!

“What do you do?”

I’m a librarian.

“No really? Really? That’s cool. Do they still use the Dewey Decimal System (which is the correct question to ask if you’re trying look like an ass and simultaneously get on the bad side of a librarian)?”

I don’t hide emotion well, and this guy’s gotta know that his time has just about run out. But still he tries some more.

“I’d like to talk to you more about your politics and this Obama guy. Can I buy you a drink?”

Shoot! That line would usually work on me, but this guy messed it up by talking too much in the first place. Besides, what kind of line is that for an anarchist anyway?

April 23, 2007. Barack Obama, New York City.

One Comment

  1. Phillip replied:

    Great meeting you at the park today! Hope to see you guys at another event soon!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

