Douche Zoo

So there’s this new lounge in the city. Last weekend I had guests in from out of town, and the suggestion was made to give this place a shot. Somebody knows the promoter, the drinks are free, so a good time should be had by all, right? WRONG! Bridge + Tunnel + NYU students=One Douche Zoo.

“What’s with Barack?”

I smile cos the music is loud and there’s no reason to have this type of discussion with this particular guy in this horrifying place. Then he starts in with a weird line that he keeps repeating.

“Barack likes free drinks!”

Apparently he says this cos I have a free drink in my hand. What I like, Barack must like.

“I see. Barack seems like he’s pretty cool, likes to have a good time.”

Oh boy… 

You know how some house music clubs have live drummers that enhance sound of the place? Well, this place also had one lonely live drummer, but really, what the hell is a guy with a drum gonna do with a Blur song?

“I bet Barack likes bongos!”

No. You. Didn’t.

The sound of a record being scratched to a halt in a movie always denotes that one of the characters has made some sort of faux pas. I wish I could make that sound effect with my mouth and use it whenever somebody says something that’s just too stupid to believe.

June 29, 2007. Barack Obama, New York City, Racism.

2 Comments

  1. msjeans replied:

    this had me laughing loudly at my desk, letting folks know I wasn’t working when I should have been.

  2. mzgreen replied:

    Then you must’ve met that guy, too!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

