Forte, 26th floor

Sometimes I like to pretend like I am not broke. Yesterday I played this little game with myself, so I headed up to the 26th floor to look at the models. I was enjoying the wine and cheese, while my friend was taking note of the shoddy craftspersonship of the marble countertops. The big macher at the party was this middle-aged lady. Of course, she was drawn to the button. I get so tired of hearing this one.

“I love Obama too, but he is not ready to be president. Not for this election.”

I was eating the lady’s cheese and drinking her wine. She totally gave off a HRC-ish vibe:  pantsuit, haridoo, ability to fence-straddle.

“Women of my generation promised themselves that they would vote for a woman for president if one ever got on the ballot. That time is now.”

For how many other rich, smart, successful women does this feeling hold true?

November 15, 2007. Barack Obama, New York City.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

