All’s well that ends well.

I started wearing my Obama button a little over a year ago, even before Barack announced his candidacy, because I just knew it was time. Later I started writing this blog because I was receiving so many interesting/disturbing/hilarious responses to the button. Back then, some folks had never even seen or heard of Barack Obama, so I had the pleasure of making the introduction.

In retrospect, wearing the button all that time was really about raising political consciousness and less about having a good time with strangers. But at this point, we all know who Obama is, though…right? I wasn’t getting those exciting weird responses to the button anymore (which is my excuse for lagging between posts…ha). 

So when I arrived back home in New York on New Year’s Day without my button, I wasn’t as heartbroken as I may have been a few months back. That button was a real one-of-a-kind, but I’ll just have to “join the movement” and display a campaign issued button on my coat. So it goes.

Thanks for reading all this time.

Obama ’08!

January 3, 2008. Barack Obama, Travel.

4 Comments

  1. Navin replied:

    Hey Amanda,

    You should keep wearing your button. This is a grassroots movement, and your button is as grassroots as it gets!

    And now, it’s on to NH!!

  2. tanas replied:

    so, wait… is this the end of the road for the blog too then?

    either way, thanks for holding it down this year!

  3. mzgreen replied:

    When I put on a replacement button this morning I felt a little sad, but then I thought about Iowa and forgot about it. Then I headed underground. Hanging out on a subway platform at 7am for Barack is about as grassroots as it gets!

  4. msjeans replied:

    it is funny how things have changed in regards to the button. I continue to wear mine as I’ve done since the summertime. Though I find people are high-fiving, hugging and button tapping more than ever. For example at a dance party Saturday night a total of 11 poeple did one of the above mentioned items. Even back in December it wasn’t more than a sigh or eye roll.
    boston, shesh.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

